SESSION LAW 2002-149




AN ACT to remove boone's cave state natural area from the state nature and historic preserve and the State parks system, to authorize the transfer of this property to davidson county for management as a park, and to allow certain public entities to use the fire tower at mount jefferson state natural area for public communications purposes, as recommended by the environmental review commission.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 143-260.10 reads as rewritten:

" 143-260.10.  Components of State Nature and Historic Preserve.

The following are components of the State Nature and Historic Preserve accepted by the North Carolina General Assembly pursuant to G.S. 143-260.8:

(1)       All lands and waters within the boundaries of the following units of the State Parks System as of April 3, 2001: Baldhead Island State Natural Area, Bay Tree Lake State Park, Boone's Cave State Natural Area, Bullhead Mountain State Natural Area, Carolina Beach State Park, Cliffs of the Neuse State Park, Chowan Swamp State Natural Area, Dismal Swamp State Natural Area, Eno River State Park, Fort Fisher State Recreation Area, Fort Macon State Park, Goose Creek State Park, Gorges State Park, Hammocks Beach State Park, Hemlock Bluffs State Natural Area, Jones Lake State Park, Lake James State Park, Lake Norman State Park, Lake Waccamaw State Park, Lumber River State Park, Medoc Mountain State Park, Merchants Millpond State Park, Mitchells Millpond State Natural Area, Mount Jefferson State Natural Area, Mount Mitchell State Park, Occoneechee Mountain State Natural Area, Pettigrew State Park, Pilot Mountain State Park, Raven Rock State Park, Run Hill State Natural Area, Singletary Lake State Park, Theodore Roosevelt State Natural Area, and Weymouth Woods-Sandhills Nature Preserve.

(16)     All lands and waters located within the boundaries of Mount Jefferson State Natural Area as of April 3, 2001. With respect to the communications tower site on the top of Mount Jefferson and located on that certain tract or parcel of land at Mount Jefferson State Natural Area in Ashe County, West Jefferson Township, described in Deed Book F-3, Page 94, the State may provide space at the communications tower site to State public safety and emergency management agencies for the placement of antennas, repeaters, and other communications devices for public communications purposes. Notwithstanding G.S. 146-29.2, the State may lease space at the communications tower site to local governments in Ashe County for the placement of antennas, repeaters, and other communications devices for public communications purposes. State agencies and local governments that are authorized to place communications devices at the communications tower site pursuant to this subdivision may also locate at or near the communications tower site communications equipment that is necessary for the proper operation of the communications devices. The use of the communications tower site pursuant to this subdivision is authorized by the General Assembly as a purpose other than the public purposes specified in Article XIV, Section 5, of the North Carolina Constitution, Article 25B of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes, and Article 2C of Chapter 113 of the General Statutes."

SECTION 2.  Boone's Cave State Natural Area is deleted from the State Parks System pursuant to G.S. 113-44.14. The State may transfer this property to Davidson County for management as a park. The instrument transferring this property shall provide that the State retains a possibility of reverter and shall provide that, in the event that Davidson County ceases to manage the property as a park, the property shall revert to the State.  The State may not otherwise sell or exchange the property.

SECTION 3.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 2nd day of October, 2002.



                                                                    s/ Beverly E. Perdue

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/ James B. Black

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/ Michael F. Easley




Approved 2:28 p.m. this 9th day of October, 2002