SESSION LAW 2003-194




AN ACT to Require any private or public institution that offers a postsecondary degree to provide meningococcal disease immunization information to students if the institution has a residential campus.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Chapter 116 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new Article to read:

"Article 32.

"Health Information.

" 116-260.  Information on meningococcal disease immunization.

(a)       Each public or private educational institution that offers a postsecondary degree as defined in G.S. 116-15 and that has a residential campus shall provide vaccination information on meningococcal disease to each student. The vaccination information shall be contained on student health forms provided to each student by the educational institution and shall include space for the student to indicate whether or not the student has received the vaccination against meningococcal disease. The vaccination information about meningococcal disease shall include any recommendations issued by the national Centers for Disease Control and Prevention regarding the disease.

(b)       The vaccination information obtained under this section that is in the possession of the educational institution is confidential and shall not be a public record under G.S. 132-1.

(c)       This section shall not be construed to require the educational institution to provide the meningococcal vaccination to students.

(d)       This section shall not apply if the national Centers for Disease Control and Prevention no longer recommends the meningococcal vaccine.

(e)       This section does not create a private right of action."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to the 2003-2004 academic year and each subsequent year.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 3rd day of June, 2003.



                                                                    s/ Beverly E. Perdue

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/ James B. Black

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/ Michael F. Easley




Approved 3:05 p.m. this 12th day of June, 2003