## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

## HOUSE BILL 696 RATIFIED BILL

## AN ACT TO AMEND THE CHARTER OF THE TOWN OF WADESBORO TO EXTEND THE MAYOR'S TERM OF OFFICE FROM TWO TO FOUR YEARS AND TO AMEND THE CHARTER OF THE TOWN OF ANSONVILLE TO EXTEND THE MAYOR'S AND COUNCIL MEMBERS' TERMS OF OFFICE FROM TWO TO FOUR YEARS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Section 3.4(a) of the Charter of the Town of Wadesboro, being Chapter 297 of the 1975 Session Laws, as amended by Chapter 885 of the 1985 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"(a) The members of the town council <u>and the mayor</u> shall serve for terms of four years, <del>and the mayor shall serve for a term of two years,</del> beginning the day and hour of the organizational meeting following their election, as established by ordinance in accordance with this charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualify."

**SECTION 2.** Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Wadesboro, being Chapter 297 of the 1975 Session Laws, as amended by Chapter 885 of the 1985 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 4.1. <u>Regular municipal elections.</u> Regular municipal elections shall be held biennially in odd-numbered years on the day set by general law for municipal elections. In the <u>1975–2003</u> regular municipal elections and <u>biennially quadrennially</u> thereafter there shall be elected a mayor for a term of <u>two–four</u> years. In the 1975 regular municipal election and quadrennially thereafter, two council members shall be elected to serve terms of four years each. In the 1977 regular municipal election and quadrennially thereafter, three council members shall be elected to serve terms of four years each. Newly elected council members shall fill the seats of those council members whose terms are then expiring."

**SECTION 3.** That portion of the order of the Municipal Board of Control for the State of North Carolina, dated May 9, 1928, In Re: Incorporation of the Town of Ansonville, Anson County, North Carolina, stating the manner of electing the Town Council of Ansonville is rewritten to read:

"The governing body of the Town shall be the Mayor and the Town Council, which shall be composed of five members. The governing body shall be elected by all the qualified voters of the entire Town. In 2003, and quadrennially thereafter, the Mayor and the Town Council shall be elected for four-year terms or until their successors are elected and qualified."

**SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 12<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2003.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Richard T. Morgan Speaker of the House of Representatives