GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2005**

HOUSE BILL 1021 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT REQUIRING THE CONSENT OF NORTHAMPTON COUNTY BEFORE LAND IN THE COUNTY MAY BE CONDEMNED OR ACQUIRED BY A UNIT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT OUTSIDE THE COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 153A-15(c) reads as rewritten:

"(c) This section applies to Alamance, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Burke, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Graham, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, and Yancey Counties only.

SECTION 2. This act applies to Northampton County only. **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of May,

2005.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives