GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H HOUSE DRH30432-LL-225B* (4/19)

Short Title:	District 6A District 0	Court Judge Funds.	(Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Ed Jones and L. Allen (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

4

5

6

7

8

9

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 6A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson

General Assembly	of North Carolina

Session 2005

1			Duplin
2			Jones
3			Onslow
4	5	8	New Hanover
5			Pender
6	6A	2 <u>3</u> 3	Halifax
7	6B	3	Northampton
8			Bertie
9			Hertford
10	7	7	Nash
11			Edgecombe
12			Wilson
13	8	6	Wayne
14			Greene
15			Lenoir
16	9	4	Granville
17		•	(part of Vance
18			see subsection (b))
19			Franklin
20	9A	2	Person
21	711	2	Caswell
22	9B	2	Warren
23) D	2	(part of Vance
24			see subsection (b))
25	10	15	Wake
26	11	8	Harnett
27	11	O	Johnston
28			Lee
29	12	9	Cumberland
30	13	6	Bladen
31	13	U	Brunswick
32			Columbus
33	14	6	Durham
		4	
34	15A	4	Alamance
35	15B	4	Orange
36	1.6 A	2	Chatham
37	16A	3	Scotland
38	160	~	Hoke
39	16B	5	Robeson
40	17A	2	Rockingham
41	17B	4	Stokes
42	10	10	Surry
43	18	12	Guilford
44	19A	4	Cabarrus

Page 2 H1937 [Filed]

Ge	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2005	
1	19B	6	Montgomery	
2			Moore	
3			Randolph	
4	19C	4	Rowan	
5	20A	4	Stanly	
6			Anson	
7			Richmond	
8	20B	3	Union	
9	21	9	Forsyth	
10	22	9	Alexander	
11			Davidson	
12			Davie	
13			Iredell	
14	23	4	Alleghany	
15			Ashe	
16			Wilkes	
17			Yadkin	
18	24	4	Avery	
19		·	Madison	
20			Mitchell	
21			Watauga	
22			Yancey	
23	25	8	Burke	
24	20	O	Caldwell	
25			Catawba	
26	26	17	Mecklenburg	
27	27A	6	Gaston	
28	27B	4	Cleveland	
29	275	•	Lincoln	
30	28	6	Buncombe	
31	29A	3	McDowell	
32	2711	3	Rutherford	
33	29B	4	Henderson	
34	270	7	Polk	
35			Transylvania	
36	30	5	Cherokee	
37	30	J	Clay	
38			Graham	
39			Haywood	
			Jackson	
40				
41			Macon	
42	CECTION 4	The Covernor shall are	Swain"	
43	SECTION 2.	the Governor snan appor	int the additional district court judge	

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 6A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the

44

H1937 [Filed] Page 3

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

1 2008 general election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in 2 December 2008.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court District 6A authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective December 15, 2006, or the date upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, whichever is later.

Page 4 H1937 [Filed]