GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

HOUSE BILL 2015 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE STAGGERED FOUR-YEAR TERMS FOR THE MAYOR AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE TOWN OF BATH.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Chapter 189 of the 1959 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1. There shall be elected at the May, 1959 town elections four commissioners and a mayor to serve terms of two years each and until their successors are duly elected and qualified, it being the intent of this Act to increase the number of Commissioners of the Town of Bath from three to four to serve terms of two years each.

(a) The governing body of the Town of Bath shall consist of a Mayor and four Town Commissioners who shall be elected by all the qualified voters of the Town. At the regular election to be held in the Town of Bath in 2007 and quadrennially thereafter, a Mayor shall be elected for a four-year term.

(b) At the regular election to be held in the Town of Bath in 2007, two Commissioner seats shall be designated separately and elected to two-year terms. Successors to those two seats shall be elected in 2009 and quadrennially thereafter for four-year terms.

(c) At the regular election to be held in the Town of Bath in 2007 and quadrennially thereafter, two Commissioners shall be elected for four-year terms."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10th day of July, 2006.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives