## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H D

## HOUSE DRH10394-LMx-176 (04/29)

	Short Title:	Maggie Valley/Satellite Annexations. (Local)	
	Sponsors:	Representatives Haire and Rapp (Primary Sponsors).	
	Referred to:	Referred to:	
		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
,	AN ACT ALLOWING THE TOWN OF MAGGIE VALLEY TO ANNEX BY		
	VOLUNTARY PETITION AREAS THAT ARE MORE THAN THREE MILES		
		HE TOWN'S PRIMARY CORPORATE LIMITS.	
	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
		CCTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:	
		noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following	
	standards:		
	(1)		
1		more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the	
	(2)	annexing city.	
•	(2)	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
		primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this	
•		section.	
	(3)		
	(3)	provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits	
		that it provides within its primary corporate limits.	
	(4)		
)		subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must	
		be included.	
,	(5)	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to	
		the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten	
		percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the	
		annexing city.	
		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,	
		Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville,	

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha. Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act applies to the Town of Maggie Valley only, and applies only to annexations in the area of Haywood County that is bound by the existing Town of Maggie Valley corporate limits to the south, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to the west, Interstate 40 to the north, and the Maggie Valley-Waynesville Annexation Agreement boundary line to the east.

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

Page 2 H2449 [Filed]