GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

HOUSE BILL 2449 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT ALLOWING THE TOWN OF MAGGIE VALLEY TO ANNEX BY VOLUNTARY PETITION AREAS THAT ARE MORE THAN THREE MILES FROM THE TOWN'S PRIMARY CORPORATE LIMITS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:

- "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:
 - (1) The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
 - (2) No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section.
 - (3) The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
 - (4) If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
 - (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Swansboro, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act applies to the Town of Maggie Valley only, and applies only to annexations in the area of Haywood County that is bound by the existing Town of Maggie Valley corporate limits to the south, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to the west, Interstate 40 to the north, and the Maggie Valley-Waynesville Annexation Agreement boundary line to the east.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of June, 2008.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives

Page 2 H2449 [Ratified]