## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## Η

29

## **HOUSE BILL 619**

Sponsors:Representative Allen.Referred to:Local Government II.

## March 14, 2007

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE TOWN OF LOUISBURG TO DECLARE
3	RESIDENTIAL AND NONRESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS IN COMMUNITY
4	DEVELOPMENT TARGET AREAS UNSAFE AND AUTHORIZING THE
5	TOWN TO REMOVE OR DEMOLISH THOSE BUILDINGS.
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	<b>SECTION 1.</b> G.S. 160A-425.1(d) reads as rewritten:
8	"(d) This <u>Section section</u> applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville,
9	Goldsboro, High Point, Lumberton, and Whiteville, and the Towns of Garner, Franklin,
10	Hope Mills Hope Mills, Louisburg, and Spring Lake only."
11	<b>SECTION 2.</b> G.S. 160A-432(a1) reads as rewritten:
12	"(a1) [Removal of Building: Certain Localities.] – In the case of a residential
13	building or nonresidential building or structure declared unsafe under G.S. 160A-425.1,
14	a city may, in lieu of taking action under subsection (a), cause the building or structure
15	to be removed or demolished. The amounts incurred by the city in connection with the
16	removal or demolition shall be a lien against the real property upon which the cost was
17	incurred. The lien shall be filed, have the same priority, and be collected in the same
18	manner as liens for special assessments provided in Article 10 of this Chapter. If the
19	building or structure is removed or demolished by the city, the city shall sell the usable
20	materials of the building and any personal property, fixtures, or appurtenances found in
21	or attached to the building. The city shall credit the proceeds of the sale against the cost
22	of the removal or demolition. Any balance remaining from the sale shall be deposited
23	with the clerk of superior court of the county where the property is located and shall be
24	disbursed by the court to the person found to be entitled thereto by final order or decree
25	of the court.
26	This subsection applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville, Goldsboro,

High Point, and Lumberton, and the Towns of Garner, Franklin, Hope Mills<u>Hope Mills</u>.
Louisburg, and Spring Lake."

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

(Local)