SESSION LAW 2008-201




AN ACT to implement the recommendations of the joint LEGISLATIVE TRANSPORTATION oversight Committee study of TIRE retread processes, as recommended by the committee.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  The North Carolina Department of Administration, Division of Purchase and Contract, is directed to make the following changes to its Request for Proposal criteria for a statewide tire retread contract:

(1)       Require that the bids remain closed until a designated and advertised bid-opening day in which the bids are opened, announced, and recorded in public. The bids shall then be shown and made available to the public.

(2)       Require that the cost of the tire retread include spot repairs and that there no longer be a separate charge for a spot repair.

(3)       Include in the contract that all casings receive a state-of-the-art inspection with the use of shearography, ultrasound, electrostatic discharge, high pressure testing, or other industry standard testing methodology.

(4)       Include a threshold for the number of times a casing may be retreaded.

(5)       Include a threshold for the age of a casing that may be retreaded.

(6)       Include the number of nail hole repairs that are permissible for a casing to be retreaded.

(7)       Provide assurance that a particular fleet will receive its own casings back after retread completed.

(8)       Set minimum tread depths per category or application of the retread tire.

(9)       Consider a multiaward contract structure that includes several vendors; the Office of Purchase and Contract will take into account geographic location, proximity of vendor to customer, and the needs of the users when creating a multiaward contract.

(10)     Provide for any method of tire retreading to be bid separately.

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 18th day of July, 2008.



                                                                    s/ Marc Basnight

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/ Joe Hackney

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/ Michael F. Easley




Approved 4:48 p.m. this 8th day of August, 2008