## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## SENATE DRS55694-LM-195 (05/20)

D

(Local)

Short Title: Wilson/Community Development Target Areas.

Sponsors:	Senator Swindell.
Referred to:	

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO ALLOW THE CITY OF WILSON TO DECLARE RESIDENTIAL 3 BUILDINGS IN COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT TARGET AREAS UNSAFE 4 AND TO HAVE THE OPTION OF REMOVING OR DEMOLISHING THOSE 5 BUILDINGS. 6 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 7 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-425.1(d) reads as rewritten: 8 "(d) This section applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville, Goldsboro, High Point, Lumberton, and Whiteville, Whiteville, and Wilson, and the 9 10 Towns of Garner, Franklin, Hope Mills, Louisburg, and Spring Lake only." 11 SECTION 2. G.S. 160A-432(a1) reads as rewritten: 12 "(a1) [Removal of Building: Certain Localities.] – In the case of a residential building or nonresidential building or structure declared unsafe under G.S. 160A-425.1, 13 14 a city may, in lieu of taking action under subsection (a), cause the building or structure to be removed or demolished. The amounts incurred by the city in connection with the 15 removal or demolition shall be a lien against the real property upon which the cost was 16 17 incurred. The lien shall be filed, have the same priority, and be collected in the same manner as liens for special assessments provided in Article 10 of this Chapter. If the 18 19 building or structure is removed or demolished by the city, the city shall sell the usable 20 materials of the building and any personal property, fixtures, or appurtenances found in 21 or attached to the building. The city shall credit the proceeds of the sale against the cost 22 of the removal or demolition. Any balance remaining from the sale shall be deposited 23 with the clerk of superior court of the county where the property is located and shall be 24 disbursed by the court to the person found to be entitled thereto by final order or decree 25 of the court.

## **General Assembly of North Carolina**

- 1 This subsection applies to the Cities of Clinton, Durham, Fayetteville, Goldsboro,
- 2 High Point, and Lumberton, Lumberton, and Wilson, and the Towns of Garner, Franklin,
- 3 Hope Mills, Louisburg, and Spring Lake."
- 4 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.