## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

D

S SENATE DRS85039-LMx-11A\* (12/06)

Short Title: Roanoke Rapids/Weldon/Ahoskie Annexations. (Local)

Sponsors: Senator Jones.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE CITY OF ROANOKE RAPIDS AND THE TOWNS OF AHOSKIE AND WELDON.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following "(b) standards:

9

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

24 25

26 27

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

10

11

1

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

Page 2 S220 [Filed]