GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S D SENATE DRS35113-LY-121 (2/27)

Short Title: Tax Certification - Jones County. (Local)

Sponsors: Senator Brown.

Referred to:

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW JONES COUNTY TO REQUIRE THE REGISTER OF DEEDS NOT TO ACCEPT ANY DEED TRANSFERRING REAL PROPERTY FOR REGISTRATION UNLESS THE COUNTY TAX COLLECTOR HAS CERTIFIED THAT NO TAXES WITH WHICH THE COLLECTOR IS CHARGED ARE A LIEN ON THE PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

- 9 "(b) Applicability. This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson,
- 11 Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville,
- 12 Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston,
- 13 <u>Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash,</u>
- 14 Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson,
- 15 Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance,
- 16 Warren, Washington, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."
- 17 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.