GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2010-16 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1456

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE DUKE BLUE DEVILS ON WINNING THE 2010 NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on April 5, 2010, the Duke University men's basketball team won the 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating Butler University by a score of 61-59; and

Whereas, this championship gives Duke University its fourth Division I NCAA title for the men's basketball program, adding to the championships won in 1991, 1992, and 2001; and

Whereas, the Blue Devils have achieved an outstanding record during their NCAA tournament history, which includes being selected 11 times as a No. 1 seed and appearing in 34 tournaments with 10 championship game appearances, 15 Final Four appearances, 18 Elite Eight appearances, and 25 Sweet 16 appearances; and

Whereas, the Blue Devils won the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) tournament championship, increasing the program's record to 18 ACC tournament titles, the most titles of any ACC member; and

Whereas, the Blue Devils were the ACC regular season cochampions, achieving a conference record of 13-3; and

Whereas, the Blue Devils triumphed on their home court this season by going undefeated; and

Whereas, the Blue Devils finished the 2009-2010 season with a record of 35-5 and were ranked No. 1 by the USA Today/ESPN Top 25 men's basketball coaches' poll; and

Whereas, much of the Blue Devils' success can be attributed to the leadership of head coach, Mike Krzyzewski, a Hall of Fame coach, who during his 30 seasons at Duke has led his teams to a record of 795-220; and

Whereas, Coach Krzyzewski maintains the record for the most number of NCAA tournament wins, capturing his 77th NCAA win during the 2010 tournament, and with four championship titles, ties Adolph Rupp for the second most championships in NCAA history; and

Whereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the year and throughout their college careers, including Kyle Singler, who was named the Final Four Most Outstanding Player and who was selected to the All-Tournament team along with teammates Nolan Smith and Jon Scheyer; and

Whereas, each year Duke University is recognized as one the nation's best academic institutions and its basketball program continues to have one of the highest graduation rates for its athletes; and

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the basketball tradition that began in 1906 when Duke alumnus Wilbur Wade "Cap" Card established the sport of basketball at Duke University (then Trinity College); and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to Duke University's men's basketball team for winning the 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.



SECTION 2. The General Assembly especially recognizes the achievements of team members Seth Curry, Jordan Davidson, Andre Dawkins, Steve Johnson, Ryan Kelly, Casey Peters, Mason Plumlee, Miles Plumlee, Jon Scheyer, Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith, Lance Thomas, Todd Zafirovski, and Brian Zoubek; Head Coach Mike Krzyzewski; Associate Head Coaches Chris Collins and Steve Wojciechowski; Assistant Coach Nate James; Director of Basketball Operations Chris Spatola; and Athletic Trainer Chris Carrawell.

SECTION 3. The General Assembly honors the memory of Wilbur Wade "Cap" Card for his contributions to the basketball program at Duke University.

SECTION 4. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Duke University President Richard H. Brodhead, Vice President and Director of Athletics Kevin White, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

SECTION 5. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 24th day of June, 2010.

Marc Basnight
President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Joe Hackney
Speaker of the House of Representatives

Page 2 Resolution 2010-16 Res 2010-0016