AN ACT to restrict the north Carolina Turnpike Authority's selection of transportation corridors to existing protected corridors or corridors south of an existing protected corridor except in the area of interstate 40 east.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 136-89.183(a)(2) reads as rewritten:

"(2)      To study, plan, develop, and undertake preliminary design work on up to nine Turnpike Projects. At the conclusion of these activities, the Turnpike Authority is authorized to design, establish, purchase, construct, operate, and maintain the following projects:

a.         Triangle Expressway, including segments also known as N.C. 540, Triangle Parkway, and Western Wake Freeway in Wake and Durham Counties. Counties, except that segment known as the Triangle Expressway Southeast Extension which shall not be located north of an existing protected corridor established by the Department of Transportation circa 1995, except in the area of Interstate 40 East.

b.         Gaston East-West Connector, also known as the Garden Parkway.

c.         Monroe Connector/Bypass.

d.         Cape Fear Skyway.

e.         A bridge of more than two miles in length going from the mainland to a peninsula bordering the State of Virginia, pursuant to G.S. 136-89.183A.

f.          Repealed by Session Laws 2008-225, s. 4, effective August 17, 2008.

Any other project proposed by the Authority in addition to the projects listed in this subdivision must be approved by the General Assembly prior to construction.

A Turnpike Project selected for construction by the Turnpike Authority shall be included in any applicable locally adopted comprehensive transportation plans and shall be shown in the current State Transportation Improvement Plan prior to the letting of a contract for the Turnpike Project."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 17th day of March, 2011.



                                                                    s/  Philip E. Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Thom Tillis

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Beverly E. Perdue




Approved 3:09 p.m. this 18th day of March, 2011