## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S SENATE DRS85086-LB-178A\* (02/25)

Short Title:	Wake Municipalities Energy Efficiency.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senators Stein, Stevens, and Hunt (Primary Sponsors).	
Referred to:		

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW THE TOWNS OF APEX, CARY, FUQUAY-VARINA, GARNER, HOLLY SPRINGS, KNIGHTDALE, MORRISVILLE, ROLESVILLE, WAKE FOREST, WENDELL, AND ZEBULON TO ENTER INTO LEASES FOR THE SITING AND OPERATION OF A RENEWABLE ENERGY FACILITY FOR UP TO TWENTY YEARS WITHOUT TREATING IT AS A SALE AND WITHOUT GIVING NOTICE BY PUBLICATION, AND EXEMPTING THOSE MUNICIPALITIES UNTIL JUNE 30, 2015, FROM COMPETITIVE BIDDING REQUIREMENTS WHEN LETTING CONTRACTS FOR USE AS PART OF LOCAL PILOT PROGRAMS AIMED AT INCREASING ENERGY EFFICIENCY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Section 3 of S.L. 2009-149, as rewritten by S.L. 2010-57 and S.L. 2010-63, reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 3. Section 2 of this act applies to the Cities of Asheville, Raleigh and Winston-Salem and the Towns of Chapel Hill and Carrboro only. This act also applies to Catawba County. County and the Towns of Apex, Cary, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Knightdale, Morrisville, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell, and Zebulon only."

**SECTION 2.** Section 1 of S.L. 2007-333, as rewritten by Section 1 of S.L. 2009-149, and by S.L. 2010-57, reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.(a) A municipality or county may contract for apparatus, supplies, materials, or equipment that will be used as part of any pilot program authorized by its governing board aimed at increasing energy efficiency without being subject to the requirements of G.S. 143-129, 143-131, and 143-132. Notwithstanding any provision of law, a municipality or county may award a contract under this section in its sole discretion.

"**SECTION 1.(b)** This section applies to the Cities of Asheville and Raleigh and the Towns of <u>Apex</u>, <u>Chapel Hill and Carrboro</u> <u>Carrboro</u>, <u>Cary</u>, <u>Chapel Hill</u>, <u>Fuquay-Varina</u>, <u>Garner</u>, <u>Holly Springs</u>, <u>Knightdale</u>, <u>Morrisville</u>, <u>Rolesville</u>, <u>Wake Forest</u>, <u>Wendell</u>, and <u>Zebulon</u> only."

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law, but Section 2 of this act expires at the same time that Section 1 of S.L. 2010-57 expires.

