SESSION LAW 2013-282




AN ACT to make the Blue Monday shad fry in east arcadia located on the cape fear river lock and dam #1 in bladen county and southeast columbus county the official state blue monday shad fry.


Whereas, the community of East Arcadia has been holding an Annual Shad Fry on the Monday following Easter Sunday for more than 60 years; and

Whereas, this Annual Shad Fry was founded and financed by Bernard Carter, Chester Graham, and Archie Graham around 1950; and

Whereas, Jesse Blanks, Wendell Brown, and Jerry Graham have assumed this position since the 1988 death of Mr. Carter; and

Whereas, this event has been supported by local men such as Teddy Hall, John Leslie Carter, Harry Blanks, Curtis Bowen, Cleo Spaulding, Odell Graham, George Graham, Sr., and Thurman Blanks, who catch, clean, and donate the shad; and

Whereas, this event garners support from the Town of East Arcadia and surrounding communities and hosts visitors from across North Carolina and other states such as Maryland, New Jersey, Connecticut, Texas, and Washington; and

Whereas, this is a day of reunion, remembering, and fellowship for all comers with upward of 1,000 individuals attending during the day; and

Whereas, it is the desire of the community to continue this tradition; Now, therefore,


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 145-33 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

" 145-33.  State Shad festival.Festival; Blue Monday Shad Fry.

(a)        The Grifton Shad Festival is adopted as the official Shad Festival of the State of North Carolina.

(b)        The East Arcadia Blue Monday Shad Fry is adopted as the official Blue Monday Shad Fry of the State of North Carolina."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of July, 2013.



                                                                    s/  Daniel J. Forest

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Thom Tillis

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Pat McCrory




Approved 6:14 p.m. this 18th day of July, 2013