GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

HOUSE BILL 290 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO ALLOW THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF RUTHERFORD COUNTY TO SERVE EX OFFICIO AS THE RUTHERFORD COUNTY AIRPORT AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of Chapter 335 of the 1971 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2. The Airport Authority shall consist of five (5) members who shall be appointed to staggered terms of four (4) years by the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners. All of the members shall be residents of the County. The terms of the initial five (5) members of the Airport Authority shall be as follows: two (2) members to be appointed to a term of four (4) years; three (3) members appointed for a term of two (2) years. Thereafter, all terms shall be for four (4) years. Each of the members and their successors so appointed shall take and subscribe before the Clerk of the Superior Court of Rutherford County, an oath of office and file same with the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners. Upon the occurrence of any vacancy on said Airport Authority, said vacancy shall be filled within sixty (60) days after notice thereof at a regular meeting of the Board of County Commissioners. Alternatively, at any time, the Board of Commissioners of Rutherford County may provide by resolution that the Board of Commissioners shall serve as the Airport Authority, but it shall serve as such without additional compensation."

SECTION 2. Section 7 of Chapter 335 of the 1971 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 7. Private property needed by said Airport Authority for any airport, landing field as facilities of same may be acquired by gift or devise, or may be acquired by private purchase or by the exercise of the power of eminent domain, pursuant to the provisions of Chapter-40 40A of the General Statutes of North Carolina, as amended."

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 26th day of June, 2013.

- s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate
- s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

