GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017



S

SENATE BILL DRS35059-RB-4 (02/09)

Short Title:	Change the LOST Adjustment Factor.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Brown (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:		

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED		
2	AN ACT TO CHANGE THE LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX (LOST) ADJUSTMENT FACTOR		
3	TO ONE THAT VARIES BY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TIERS.		
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
5	SECTION 1. G.S. 105-486(b) reads as rewritten:		
6	"(b) Adjustment. – The Secretary shall then adjust the amount allocated to each county		
7	under subsection (a) by multiplying the amount by the appropriate adjustment factor set out in the		
8	table below. The adjustment factor is based on the development tier designation of the county		
9	under G.S. 143B-437.08. The development tier designation of a county is effective for the fiscal		
10	year following the designation. If, after applying the adjustment factors, the resulting total of the		
11	amounts allocated is greater or lesser than the net proceeds to be distributed, the amount allocated		
12	to each county shall be proportionally adjusted to eliminate the excess or shortage.		
13	CountyArea Development Tier Adjustmen	<u>t Factor</u>	
14	Development tier one	<u>1.10</u>	
15	Development tier two	<u>1.00</u>	
16	Development tier three	<u>0.90</u>	
17	Dare	1.49	
18	Brunswick	1.17	
19	Orange	1.15	
20	Carteret and Durham	1.14	
21	Avery	$\frac{1.12}{1.12}$	
22	Moore	1.11	
23	Transylvania	$\frac{1.10}{1.10}$	
24	Chowan, McDowell, and Richmond	1.09	
25	Pitt and New Hanover	1.07	
26	Beaufort, Perquimans, Buncombe, and Watauga	1.06	
27	Cabarrus, Jackson, and Surry	1.05	
28	Alleghany, Bladen, Robeson, Washington, Craven, Henderson,	1.04	
29	Onslow, and Vance		
30	Gaston, Granville, and Martin	1.03	
31	Alamance, Burke, Caldwell, Chatham, Duplin, Edgecombe,	1.02	
32	Haywood, Swain, and Wilkes		
33	Hertford, Union, Stokes, Yancey, Halifax, Rockingham, and	1.01	
34	Cleveland		
35	Alexander, Anson, Johnston, Northampton, Pasquotank, Person,	$\frac{1.00}{1.00}$	
36	Polk, and Yadkin		



	General Assembly Of North Carolina	Session 2017
1	Catawba, Harnett, Iredell, Pamlico, Pender, Randolph, Stanly, and	0.99
2	Tyrrell	
3	Cherokee, Cumberland, Davidson, Graham, Hyde, Macon,	0.98
4	Rutherford, Scotland, and Wilson	
5	Ashe, Bertie, Franklin, Hoke, Lincoln, Montgomery, and Warren	0.97
6	Wayne, Clay, Madison, Sampson, Wake, Lee, and Forsyth	0.96
7	Caswell, Gates, Mitchell, and Greene	0.95
8	Currituck and Guilford	0.94
9	Davie and Nash	0.93
10	Rowan and Camden	0.92
11	Jones	0.90
12	Mecklenburg	0.89
13	Lenoir	0.88
14	Columbus	0.81 "

15 **SECTION 2.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2017, and applies to local option 16 sales taxes collected on or after that date and distributed to counties and cities on or after

17 September 1, 2017.