GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2018-3 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 708

A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING NORTH CAROLINA AGRICULTURAL AND TECHNICAL **STATE** UNIVERSITY FOR ITS LONG AND **STORIED** CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE **EDUCATION AND** TRAINING **OF** AFRICAN-AMERICANS AND **DIVERSE STUDENTS** OTHER AND CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY'S FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2017 HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (N.C. A&T) was founded in 1891, in response to the Second Morrill Act passed by the U.S. Congress in 1890; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T is a land-grant doctoral university, with "higher research activity," as ranked by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education, and is among North Carolina's three most productive public research campuses; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T was ranked No. 2 in 2017 by U.S. News & World Report among public historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and is the largest HBCU; and

Whereas, according to U.S. Department of Education data reported in the magazine Diverse Issues in Higher Education, N.C. A&T ranks:

- (1) No. 1 in the United States in undergraduate graduation of African-Americans with a degree in engineering and No. 1 in graduation of African-Americans with a master's degree in mathematics and statistics.
- (2) No. 2 in the United States in undergraduate graduation of African-Americans with a degree in engineering technology and engineering-related studies; parks, recreation, and leisure studies; and agriculture and No. 2 in graduation of African-Americans with a master's degree in engineering and physical sciences; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T's vast alumni include: Ronald McNair, physicist and NASA astronaut, who died during the launch of Space Shuttle Challenger in 1986; U.S. Representative Alma Adams, who also served nearly two decades in the North Carolina House of Representatives; Reverend Jesse Jackson Sr., prominent civil rights leader; the A&T Four, Jibreel Khazan, Joseph McNeil, Franklin McCain (deceased), and David Richmond (deceased), whose brave sit-in at the Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro helped spark the desegregation of dining facilities across the South; former NBA player and current Golden State Warriors vice president Alvin Attles; and current university Chancellor Harold L. Martin Sr.; and

Whereas, Chancellor Martin was listed as one of five university leaders to watch in 2018 by Education Dive, an online publication that provides news and analysis for higher education and K-12 leaders, and named among the Triad's Most Admired CEOs by the Triad Business Journal in 2016; and



Whereas, in addition to N.C. A&T's long history of providing an academic environment in which students thrive and excel, the University also has an outstanding record of excellence and accomplishments in its athletic programs; and

Whereas, on December 16, 2017, the N.C. A&T football team (the Aggies) defeated Grambling State University by a score of 21-14 to win the third annual Celebration Bowl held in Atlanta, Georgia; and

Whereas, the Celebration Bowl determines the national champion among HBCUs; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T won its first Celebration Bowl in 2015, when they defeated Alcorn State; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T in 1990 and 1999 was crowned the winner of the Black College National Championship; and

Whereas, on the road to the HBCU national championship title, the Aggies, with a record of 12-0, became the first football championship subdivision HBCU team to finish a season unbeaten and untied; and

Whereas, in the 2017 season, the Aggies defeated Garner-Webb University (45-3), Mars Hill University (56-0), the University of North Carolina at Charlotte (35-31), Morgan State University (49-17), South Carolina State University (21-7), Delaware State University (44-3), Florida A&M University (24-20), Bethune-Cookman University (24-20), Norfolk State University (35-7), Savannah State University (36-17), and North Carolina Central University (24-10); and

Whereas, while the Aggies had two previously undefeated seasons in 1927 and 1943, the 2017 season was their first undefeated season as a member of the Mid-Eastern Atlantic Conference (MEAC); and

Whereas, the Aggies have won nine MEAC football conference championship titles; and

Whereas, several Aggies on the 2017 football team have received numerous All-American honors from various organizations, including the Associated Press, STATS FCS (a network that does nationwide college football polls), Phil Steele Magazine, and the American Football Coaches Association; and

Whereas, 2017 quarterback Lamar Raynard was named MEAC Offensive Player of the Year and was selected as a finalist for the Deacon Jones Award, which recognizes the best black college football player in the country and will be presented by the Black College Hall of Fame in February 2017; and

Whereas, 2017 running back Marquell Cartwright was named 2017 Celebration Bowl Offensive MVP, and freshman cornerback Franklin "Mac" McCain III was named 2017 Celebration Bowl Defensive MVP; and

Whereas, the Aggies' 2017 Celebration Bowl victory was Head Coach Rod Broadway's fourth HBCU national championship, and he was named 2017 MEAC Coach of the Year; and

Whereas, the Aggies' past and current athletic prowess and victories on the field give its alumni and supporters cause and frequent occasion to shout their mantra, "Aggie Pride"; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T's outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments have brought honor, distinction, and pride to the State of North Carolina and thus deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly recognizes and supports North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University for its dedication and commitment to educating

students in varied fields of graduate and undergraduate study, for its successes in creating leaders in science, technology, and other areas, and for its successes in its athletic programs, including football.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly, on behalf of the people of the State of North Carolina, congratulates the Aggies of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University on their undefeated 2017 football season and on their 2017 Celebration Bowl victory.

SECTION 3. The General Assembly acknowledges and appreciates the efforts of each and every member of the 2017 football team of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University and their Head Coach Rod Broadway.

SECTION 4. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Chancellor Harold L. Martin Sr., Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Earl Hilton III, current Head Coach Sam Washington, and retired Head Coach Rod Broadway.

SECTION 5. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of February, 2018.

- s/ Philip E. Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate
- s/ David R. Lewis
 Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives