GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

S SENATE BILL 797

Short Title:	e: District Court 25 - Burke/Caldwell/Catawba.	
Sponsors:	Senator Daniel (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate	

June 1, 2018

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALIGN THE DISTRICT COURT AND PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICTS TO THE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICTS IN DISTRICT 25.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

SECTION 1.(a) G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

District	Judges	County
1	5	Camden
		Chowan
		Currituck
		Dare
		Gates
		Pasquotank
		Perquimans
2	4	Martin
		Beaufort
		Tyrrell
		Hyde
		Washington
3A	5	Pitt
3B	6	Craven
		Pamlico
		Carteret
4	8	Sampson
		Duplin
		Jones
		Onslow
5	9	New Hanover
		Pender
6	4	Northampton
		Bertie
		Hertford



Ge	General Assembly Of North Carolina		Session 201
			Halifax
	7	7	Nash
			Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
	9	5	Granville
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
			Franklin
			Person
	9B	2	Warren
	, _	-	(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	19	Wake
	11	11	Harnett
	11	11	Johnston
			Lee
	12	10	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
	13	o .	Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	7	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	5	Orange
	130	3	Chatham
	16A	6	Scotland
	10A	O	Hoke
			Anson
			Richmond
	16B	Ę	
		5	Robeson
	17A	4	Caswell
	17D	4	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
	10	1.4	Surry
	18	14	Guilford
	19A	5	Cabarrus
	19B	7	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	2	Stanly
	20B	1	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	20D	1	Union
	21	11	Forsyth
	22A	5	Alexander
			Iredell

General Assembly Of North Carolina			Session 2017	
	22B	6	Davidson	
			Davie	
	23	4	Alleghany	
			Ashe	
			Wilkes	
			Yadkin	
	24	4	Avery	
			Madison	
			Mitchell	
			Watauga	
			Yancey	
	25 25A	<u>92</u>	Burke	
	. <u></u>	-	Caldwell	
	<u>25B</u>	8	Catawba	
	26	$\frac{8}{21}$	Mecklenburg	
	27A	7	Gaston	
	27B	6	Cleveland	
			Lincoln	
	28	7	Buncombe	
	29A	3	McDowell	
			Rutherford	
	29B	4	Henderson	
			Polk	
			Transylvania	
	30	6	Cherokee	
			Clay	
			Graham	
			Haywood	
			Jackson	
			Macon	
			Swain.	
	"			

SECTION 1.(b) Notwithstanding G.S. 7A-133(a), upon each of the first three district court judgeship vacancies occurring in District Court District 25B due to death, resignation, removal, or retirement of a person who is a resident of Catawba County holding a judgeship on the effective date of this section shall be filled according to law. However, at the next general election held for that judgeship, only persons who reside in District 25A, as enacted by this act, may be candidates for that district court judgeship and any primary associated with that general election shall also be held accordingly.

SECTION 1.(c) Upon each of the first three district court judgeship vacancies occurring in District Court District 25B due to the death, resignation, removal, or retirement of a person who is a resident of Catawba County holding a judgeship on the effective date of this section, the Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide written notice of the vacancy to the State Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement and to the Revisor of Statutes. The State Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement shall ensure that only persons who reside in District Court District 25A, as enacted by this act, may file as candidates for the judgeship at the next general election held for that judgeship. The Revisor of Statutes shall revise the language of G.S. 7A-133(a) to reflect the changed number of judges in Districts 25A and 25B.

SECTION 1.(d) On January 15, 2030, if the provisions of this section have not resulted in the modification of G.S. 7A-133(a) to reflect that five judges each serve in Districts

25A and 25B, as enacted by this act, the Revisor of Statutes shall revise the language of G.S. 7A-133(a) to so reflect and the elections of 2030 shall be held in accordance with the revised statute.

SECTION 1.(e) The additional judge in District 25A, as established by subsection (a) of this section, shall take office on January 1, 2021, with an election in 2020 to be held accordingly.

SECTION 2.(a) G.S. 7A-60 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-60. District attorneys and prosecutorial districts.

(a) The State shall be divided into prosecutorial districts, as shown in subsection (a1) of this section. There shall be a district attorney for each prosecutorial district, as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this section who shall be a resident of the prosecutorial district for which elected. A vacancy in the office of district attorney shall be filled as provided in Article IV, Sec. 19 of the Constitution.

.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14 15

16

17

(a1) (Effective January 1, 2019) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

18	D 1		No. of Full-Time
19	Prosecutorial	Counties	Asst. District
20	District	Counties Counties Counties	Attorneys
21	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
22		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
23	2	Perquimans	0
24	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
25	2	Tyrrell, Washington	10
26	3	Pitt	12
27	4	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	13
28	5	Duplin, Jones, Onslow, Sampson	19
29	6	New Hanover, Pender	19
30	7	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	11
31		Northampton	
32	8	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19
33	9	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
34	10	Franklin, Granville, Person	13
35		Vance, Warren	
36	11	Wake	42
37	12	Harnett, Lee	11
38	13	Johnston	10
39	14	Cumberland	25
40	15	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	14
41	16	Durham	18
42	17	Alamance	12
43	18	Orange, Chatham	10
44	19	Scotland, Hoke	7
45	20	Robeson	12
46	21	Anson, Richmond	6
47	22	Caswell, Rockingham	10
48	23	Stokes, Surry	8
49	24	Guilford	34
50	25	Cabarrus	9
51	26	Montgomery, Randolph	10

Gen	eral Assembly O	Session 2017	
	27	Rowan	9
	28	Moore	5
	29	Stanly	5
	30	Union	11
	31	Forsyth	27
	32	Alexander, Iredell	12
	33	Davidson, Davie	12
	34	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, Yadkin	9
	35	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	8
		Watauga, Yancey	
	36	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	19
	<u>36A</u>	Burke, Caldwell	<u>10</u>
	<u>36B</u>	<u>Catawba</u>	10 9 58
	37	Mecklenburg	58
	38	Gaston	15
	39	Cleveland, Lincoln	12
	40	Buncombe	14
	41	McDowell, Rutherford	8
	42	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	9
	43	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	12
		Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain.	
	"	-	

22" 23

24

SECTION 2.(b) This section becomes effective January 1, 2023, with an election in 2022 to be held accordingly.

25 **SECTION 3.** Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes 26 law.